CEO of the Year Top Banner

Each fall, the business community in Ottawa gathers to celebrate excellence in business leadership and honour a chief executive whose actions have greatly impacted on the business environment in Ottawa and the community in general.

The CEO of the Year award is based on five criteria: corporate performance, leadership and vision, competitiveness and innovation, community involvement and timeliness. The recipient will be selected by a committee co-chaired by OBJ publisher Michael Curran and Ottawa Chamber of Commerce President Ian Faris.

The CEO of the Year is now recognized at the Best Ottawa Business Awards (BOBs), an annual gala that draws the city's business, community and political leaders each fall.

For more information on the BOBs, please visit

Past Recipients of the CEO of the Year Award:

2013 -- Paul Loucks, Halogen Software
2012 -- Louise Wendling, Costco Canada 
2011 -- Jean Laurin, Schinnerer Group
2010 -- Don Smith, Mitel
2009 -- Karen Kinsley, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
2008 -- Roy Mlakar, Ottawa Senators
2007 -- David Dobson, Corel Corporation
2006 -- Kevin Dee, Eagle Professional
2005 -- Peter Strom, March Networks
2004 -- Roger Greenberg, Minto
2003 -- Richard L’Abbe, Med-Eng
2002 -- Ron Zambonini, Cognos
2001 -- George Cwynar, Mosaid
2000 -- Rod Bryden, WorldHeart & Senators