People on the Move / Hats Off (April 8-26)

OBJ Staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Allegra, Adjeleian Allen Rubeli and Funhaven among local businesses landing industry accolades.

(Stock image)


Lytica Inc. has appointed Mark Tayles as vice-president of sales and marketing. Mr. Tayles has a background in distribution and component sales.

WiLAN elected its board of directors: Robert S. Bramson, Michel Tewfik Fattouche, John Kendal Gillbery, William Keith Jenkins, W. Paul McCarten, Jim Roche, Richard J. Shorkey and Jim Skippen.

Hill+Knowlton Strategies appointed Andrew (Andy) Leslie as an associate in its Ottawa office. Mr. Leslie comes to the firm from the Canadian Armed Forces, where he was most recently the chief of transformation, leading a multidisciplinary team of military and civilian personnel.


Randy Shaughnessy, owner of Shaughnessy Photography, won the Canadian Photographic Artist of the Year Award from the Professional Photographers of Canada Association. He also received the Ontario Photographic Artist of the Year 2012 Award, and the award for Best in Class in the Animal – Wild/Domestic category for Ontario.

Walter McGinn, Catharine Franchuk, Simon Wood and Michael Kanstrup, owners of Allegra in Ottawa, were honoured by Allegra Network with the franchise system’s 2012 Sales Excellence Award. The recognition is earned by the top 10 per cent in the international network.

Mark Lievonen, president of Sanofi Pasteur Ltd., was inducted into the Canadian Marketing Healthcare Hall of Fame, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the healthcare industry.

Adjeleian Allen Rubeli Ltd. won the top engineering award – the Willis Chipman Award – for its work on the Ottawa Convention Centre at the Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards.

Ottawa Tourism announced the winners of its Ottawa Tourism Awards. Funhaven won the New Company of the Year award. Nordik Spa won for Innovation of the Year. The Ottawa Senators Hockey Club won for Event of the Year. National Capital Commission, with Downtown Rideau BIA won the Tourism Partnership of the Year award. In addition, Amanda Williams won the Ottawa Tourism Travel Writing award, Jacques Filion was named the 2012 Star of the City, and Jason Robillard, a student at Algonquin college, received the annual Tourism Scholarship.

Organizations: Algonquin college, Hats Off, ON THE MOVE Lytica Allegra Canadian Armed Forces Professional Photographers Canada Association Simon Wood and Michael Kanstrup Sanofi Pasteur Canadian Marketing Healthcare Hall Adjeleian Allen Rubeli Ottawa Convention Centre Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards.Ottawa Tourism New Company of the Year Ottawa Senators Hockey Club National Capital Commission Ottawa Tourism Travel Writing

Geographic location: Ottawa, Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page