EY's Ian Sherman re-elected chair of Ottawa Board of Trade

Ian Sherman
Ian Sherman (left) has been re-elected as chair of the Ottawa Board of Trade, while Mischa Kaplan (right) was re-elected as vice-chair on Thursday night. They are seen with Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson after signing a memorandum of understanding to consolidate operations in 2018. File photo

One of the city’s best-known business executives has been re-elected to a second term as chair of the Ottawa Board of Trade.

Ian Sherman, a partner in the EY’s Ottawa office, will head the BOT’s board of directors for another year after a vote during the Board of Trade’s virtual annual meeting on Thursday night. 

It was the organization’s first official board election since the former Ottawa Chamber of Commerce merged with the West Ottawa Board of Trade and the Orl​éans Chamber of Commerce to create a single city-wide board of trade in 2018.

​“The consolidation was the first step in building a stronger voice for business in Ottawa,” Sherman said in a statement. “Our outgoing board has worked diligently, tirelessly and enthusiastically through the transition and has created a solid foundation for us to scale up our impact and advocacy to better serve our business community.”

The new board of directors also includes:

  • Joelle Hall, Richardson GMP – vice-chair
  • Mischa Kaplan, Ottawa Tourism – vice-chair
  • Robert Rheaume, BDO – treasurer
  • Ruby Williams, Deloitte – corporate secretary
  • Andrew Arnott, RBC – director
  • Andrew Scott, Pita Pit – director
  • Brendan McGuinty, Strategy 360 – director
  • Craig Bater, lawyer – director
  • David Coletto, Abacus Data – director
  • Erin Benjamin, Canadian Live Music Association – director
  • Erin Crowe, Martello Technologies – director
  • Greg Skotnicki, Market Makers AG – director
  • James Baker, Keynote Group – director
  • Karla Briones, Karla Briones Consulting/Freshii/Global Pet Foods – director
  • Mark Nisbett, Brookstreet Hotel – director
  • Megan Wallace, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall – director
  • Priya Bhaloo, TAG HR – director
  • Sally Douglas, Grey Smith Douglas Co. – director
  • Shelley True, TRUEdotDESIGN – director
  • Wayne French, Waste Management – director